Tags

, , , , , , , ,

What a pleasure it is to allow another Murphy-Goode Wine Lifestyle Correspondent hopeful lady to guest post on my blog today. People, here is a light article which almost poetically weaves the message: Keep it authentic. Once you have read Ashley’s words, I am sure you will agree, so without further fanfare, I present you Ashley Bellview:

Everything I know about competition, I learned from Willy Wonka.

You can yell as loud as you want, buy up all the candy bars in the world and bully your way to the top, but in the end you’ll just find yourself stuck in a chocolate tube. No. Brute force, bribery and fur coats never work – well at least not for long.

I have unintentionally found myself representing, defending and poster child-ing the Low Budget side of this addictive Murphy-Goode campaign. Like Charlie, it was a little bit of luck that got this whole thing started in the first place. A friend passed along the Murphy-Goode posting (golden ticket?). IT’S PERFECT FOR YOU she capitalized. So, like all nervous contestants, I began my quest by scoping out the competition. Mistake #1.

If you plan on being low budget, don’t waste your time comparing yourself to all the accomplished bloggers, wine sommeliers and Le Cordon Bleu alum. The thing about social media is that it is, in fact, social! You have all the tools and tricks of the trade in your head already. So I took my so-old-I-don’t-even-want-to-tell-you-the-model camcorder and got to work being social. Yes it was hand-held, no it was not The Blair Witch Project.

It’s about being authentic, because nobody wants to see a corporate figure head bobbling PR nonsense their way. They want to hear something interesting from someone interesting – familiar. And about wine for goodness sake! Some may make it a science, but the joy of wine lay not in the mastery of it, but in the experience. Because once you master wine, then what, oh master? Ask Dionysus if he cares to detail the subtleties and complexities within his glass of wine before he gets to drink it – I dare you.

You taste, you spit, you laugh, you learn, you live. Basics. Like living. Don’t make it more complicated than it has to be. I say be yourself, honor your family (no matter how old) tell the truth, wear comfortable clothes, laugh when you want, work hard (even when you don’t necessarily want to), and only taste the Fizzy Lifting Drink if you promise to return the gobstopper in the end.

**************

Ashley, thank you so much for taking the time to share with us today!  For the readers, here is where you can find Ashley and here is her video.  Enjoy!

And now I know you want to have the link to vote for a great Murphy-Goode hopeful, so you can go directly to the scene… HERE.