Tags

, , ,

On July 30th I started a bet with Kamary Phillips of Murphy-Goode Social Media fame to see who would increase blog traffic to their *new* post-Murphy-Goode the quickest.

I have yet to proclaim where you can find my new blog to my readers here, so as not to leave poor Kamary at a disadvantage… *she smiles wickedly*, he should have the benefit of his MG fame to push his campaign forward.  Today I want to let you know how I am doing from my side of the bet–Kamary is in the process of moving, so I don’t know if he is able to give us a quick report at this time or not.

On August 10th I showed you my stats to date then:

august 10th 2009 stats (blog is live)

At that point Kamary had already gone over 200 hits so he won the first stretch (the milestones to hit were first 100, first 500 and first 1000).   I ran into some trouble with the backend and then once I ironed that out, I had trouble with the visuals on the layout.  I had my moments thinking: WordPress.com is not all that bad.  No need to deal with code.  What you see is what you get… yada, yada, yada.  But I bit the bullet and got a rocking solid blog up.

Here are some stats relevant to today:

stats aug 2009

What I find neat is that there are more than one comment per post–almost 3!  This is cool.  (Just for comparison, Andy’s Goode Life is at about 7 comments per post on average.)  No subscribers to FeedBurner, so this will be one of my next topics to tackle:  Feed subscriptions and opt-in’s for newsletters.

So, you want to know how many hits a person can generate from scratch in a month?  Here it is *drumroll please*:

babyblog stats aug 2009 animated

The relevant number for the bet with Kamary is this one:  547.  But if you want to know the total hits, then 24320 would be the number.  (Can anyone tell me *how* awstats comes up with this number?  Apparently the bots are NOT part of this number, they have come almost 4000 times to scour my blog… and awstats says this number is NOT part of the total hits!)

I said at the beginning of this week, I plan to reach 500 by Wednesday, and perhaps 1000 by the weekend… and with a little luck and some good old fashioned hard work, I think I can do it.

So tell me, what have you been up to since the MG gig finished up?