Tags

, , , , , , ,

To date my focus in this blog has been on leveraging blog power and twitter mania. Some have noticed my careful avoidance of facebook and myspace… along with the lacking “drink wine x, y, z” articles. As I have yet to allow my first wine to pass these virgin lips (the powers-to-be could accomodate with a combined social media extravaganza for my 40th birthday in October *hint-hint-nudge-nudge*), I do actually have some experience with both FB and MS — all be it extremely limited. Honestly speaking: I am in NO position to teach anyone how to leverage either of these two medias in a social media marketing campaign (but I am surely looking forward to your comments here… teach me — teach me!).

With over 130-million users monthly and the Murphy-Goode gig still up for grabs, the question has changed from IF you should use MySpace or Facebook to reach your customersfriends to HOW. How can attention, affinity, and action happen best on each site? How do marketing messages spread differently between the two? How best to monitor and measure a brand’s performance on each site?

Oh, do you long for those golden days of marketing when life was so simple you actually had to leave the couch to “zap through” the commercials and all you had to do was “ask Mikey, he’ll try anything”: Life was good back then, eh? Well, as some of us hold onto the theory “a grape is a grape is a grape”, others know that there is power in the subtleties of even this one fruit which can be leveraged to create some mighty fine juice. Same holds true for the various social networks out there, so the Murphy-Goode Hopeful will be well advised to brush up on these key issues.

Thankfully there is always a great source of information to be found on the internet, so I do not have to do all the work for you! First off, hats off to the guy behind Brand Autopsy, John Moore (if you are not following him, perhaps you should reconsider your list of friends and followers?)

I want to share his second video from the post with you here because this one sentance actually stuck out so much in my mind: the difference between campaign and movement… to follow a campaign means to work really hard for a short, pre-determined time frame. Once the campaign is over, you drop everything (and loose all the contancts you made in the process). I am thinking about this issue a lot these days.

You know I have said that whoever gets the Murphy-Goode gig needs to have a longer-term perspective than the “six-month-time-frame” given in the job description: what tools are you going to leave the MG team with so that they can continue with the journey they now find themself on? And on a more personal note for the 99.9% who do not get the gig, is all that we have been learning going to –what?– disappear into digital dust once that one lucky duck swims in Sonoma wine waters?

It is my hope that we pull together as a community to support and uplift that lucky dude or dudette, have a rocking great time along side the Wine Country Lifestyle Correspondent, learn, live and laugh for the duration and all come away with a winning experience. I know for myself I have learned tons in these past three weeks alone. I would love to learn more from and with you!

So, go on over to John’s Brand Autopsy, check out his great content and have a look at the other videos he has posted out there… and come back to tell me what you learned, what was missed out on, how you use FB and MS.

Catch you in the comments!